Azerbaijan: part of the Russian Empire until 1917; part of the Transcaucasian Democratic Federative Republic 1917-1918; Azerbaijan Democratic Republic 1918-1920; part of the Transcaucasian Socialist Federative Soviet Republic 1920-1922; part of the U.S.S.R. 1922-1991; Republic of Azerbaijan 1992 =>

Republic of Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh Republic) is a breakaway state (declaration September 2, 1991), that is internationally recognized as part of Azerbaijan. No United Nations member country recognizes “The Republic of Artsakh” independence

Claudio Nicoletti's site on European Club Cups and Domestic Leagues